top of page
Search
  • jameicademercado

The Harsh Reality of Chiesa Dell'Autostrada

Updated: Jun 27, 2019

This was another favorite site to visit. It felt much stronger and different than anything that you can really see in Italy. This one site really stuck to me cause i could feel the layers of brutalism architecture. From the outside its a huge connection of different materials and feels like its harsh but in a sense it works for the building. The next layer is going into the main entryway inside, things felt a lot colder and wider from the outside and made it feel like the outside of the building was the skin and the hallways was a lung. It just felt like it was breathing life and I never felt that way about a building. Then the third layer was closer inside the altar. With all the support it felt like branches that was holding up the skin of the building and connecting to the hallways that I related to the lungs. I just felt like I could connect this building to other living things that this building felt like it was living being which was the first time I experience something like that.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page